West Indies Announces A Powerful T20 and ODI Squad For Africa Series

Shannon Gabriel has been added to the West Indies squad for their next three-match ODI series vs South Africa, which might be his first ODI since the 2019 World Cup.

In the second Test match between West Indies and Zimbabwe last week in Bulawayo, Gabriel made his return to the international stage. Because of his performance for Trinidad and Tobago in the Regional Super50 Cup in November, Gabriel has been picked to take early wickets in place of the injured Anderson Phillip and Jayden Seales.

The chief selector Desmond Haynes said: “We have had some injuries to our fast-bowling pool, so therefore we see Gabriel as an ideal fit heading into South Africa, and the surfaces we expect to play on.”

He further added, “It is felt that we need someone to get those early wickets and he is the kind of bowler that can do that. Judging from his performances in the CG United Super50 Cup, he is potentially a wicket-taking option up front.”

Roston Chase, who last played an ODI against Ireland in January of last year, also comes to the white-ball side. The West Indies will play their first series following Shai Hope’s permanent selection as their ODI skipper last week.

On the other hand, Rovman Powell will also take care of winning the series as he is the newly appointed T20I captain.

West Indies ODI Squad:

Shai Hope (c), Brandon King, Shamarh Brooks, Nicholas Pooran, Keacy Carty, Roston Chase, Akeal Hosein, Yannic Cariah, Kyle Mayers, Rovman Powell (vc), Jason Holder, Romario Shepherd, Odean Smith, Alzarri Joseph, Shannon Gabriel

West Indies T20 Squad:

Johnson Charles, Brandon King, Shamarh Brooks, Nicholas Pooran, Kyle Mayers (vc), Rovman Powell (c), Jason Holder, Raymon Reifer, Romario Shepherd, Odean Smith, Yannic Cariah, Akeal Hosein, Sheldon Cottrell, Alzarri Joseph, Obed McCoy*

West Indies in South Africa schedule:

February 21-23 – Warm-up match vs SA Invitational XI (Benoni)
Feb 28-March 4 – 1st Test (Centurion)
March 8-12 – 2nd Test (Johannesburg)
March 16 – 1st ODI (East London)
March 18 – 2nd ODI (East London)
March 21 – 3rd ODI (Potchefstroom)
March 25 – 1st T20I (Centurion)
March 26 – 2nd T20I (Centurion)
March 28 – 3rd T20I (Johannesburg)

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles