IND vs AUS, 1st T20: Why The Last-ball Six From Rinku Singh Was Not Counted By ICC?

Rinku Singh played a heroic knock in the first T20I against Australia where the hosts beat the visitors by two wickets in a thriller.

In the match, India needed 7 runs off the last over. Rinku Singh played a pivotal role by hitting a four off the first ball from Sean Abbott, reducing the required runs to 3 off 5 balls. Although Rinku couldn’t connect with the second ball, which Abbott bowled with a change in length, he managed to secure a single.

Needing 2 runs off 4 balls, Axar Patel attempted a swing on a length delivery but failed to connect properly, resulting in a top edge. Sean Abbott maintained his composure and comfortably caught the ball over his shoulder, dismissing Axar and bringing spinner Ravi Bishnoi to the crease.

On the third ball, Bishnoi attempted a hook shot but missed the connection entirely. Despite Bishnoi being run out at the other end, Rinku managed to retain the strike.

India needed one run off the last ball and Rinku Singh had his calm and composure with him. He achieved the victory by hitting the ball for a six-over long-on. However, the six runs were not initially counted as the third umpire soon confirmed that Abbott had overstepped, resulting in a no-ball.

As India required only one run to secure victory, the no-ball had effectively ended the match before the delivery could reach Rinku Singh. Not only this but Rinku Singh’s six was neither added to India’s total nor to his personal score.

Related Articles

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

407,929FansLike
76,270FollowersFollow
965,000SubscribersSubscribe

Latest Articles