ICC ODI World Cup 2023 Prize Money Announced: Check Winners And Runners-Up Prize Money

The excitement builds as the 2023 Men’s Cricket World Cup, scheduled in India, draws closer. With a total prize pool of USD 10 million (approximately INR 84 crore), this marquee tournament promises thrilling cricketing action and substantial rewards for the participating teams.

The 2023 Men’s World Cup boasts an impressive prize pool of USD 10 million, making it one of the most lucrative cricket tournaments in the world.

The team that emerges victorious in the final, slated for November 19 at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad, will claim a substantial prize of USD 4 million (approximately INR 33 crore). This sizable reward awaits the world champions, motivating the teams to give their best on the field.

While the winners take the lion’s share, the runners-up in the final will not be left empty-handed. They will be awarded USD 2 million (around INR 16.5 crore), a testament to their outstanding performance throughout the tournament. The journey to the final promises high stakes and intense competition.

During the Group Stage, all ten participating teams will face off against each other once in a round-robin format. Beyond the glory of victory, teams will also have the opportunity to earn prize money for their wins in Group Stage games. Each triumph in this stage will yield a payout of USD 40,000 (approximately INR 33 lakh). This adds an extra layer of competition as teams vie for points and financial rewards.

Recognizing the efforts of teams that do not progress to the knockout stage, the tournament organizers have ensured they are not left empty-handed. Even if a team exits the competition early, they will still receive a respectable sum of USD 100,000 (INR 8.4 lakh). This gesture underscores the inclusivity and fairness of the tournament.

In an important stride towards gender equality in cricket, the 2023 Men’s Cricket World Cup prize money sets a precedent for the future. During the ICC Annual Conference held in Durban, South Africa, in July 2023, it was announced that equal prize money would be awarded for both men’s and women’s events. This move reflects a commitment to promoting gender parity in the sport.

PCB Seeks Compensation From Jay Shah-Led ACC, Check Full Report

“The prize money also sets the precedent for the upcoming ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup in 2025, with ICC announcing equal sums for both men’s and women’s events during the Annual Conference held in Durban, South Africa in July 2023,” a release from the ICC read.

As the tournament approaches, teams have been gearing up for the challenge. Warm-up matches, commencing on September 29, will provide crucial practice opportunities for all ten participating teams. India, one of the favourites for the tournament, will face England and Netherlands in their two practice games before the World Cup officially begins.

However, two teams, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh, are yet to finalize their rosters for the World Cup. Teams have until September 27 to make any necessary changes to their squads.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles