India played against Bangladesh on 03 November at Adelaide in the Super 12 Round of the T20 World Cup 2022. The match was interrupted by rain in the second innings. Before the rain, India put up a total of 184 runs batting first with the help of Virat Kohli’s 64 runs and KL Rahul’s 50 runs.
During the first innings, Dinesh Karthik was again dismissed cheaply. Dinesh Karthik failed in all of the world cup matches so far. His run-out dismissal sparked controversy among fans. During the final ball of the 17th over of the Indian innings, Virat Kohli and Dinesh Karthik were in the middle. Kohli played the full toss from Shariful Islam toward Covers. The ball was fielded by captain Shakib Al Hasan. Meanwhile, Dinesh Karthik ran from the nonstriking end. But Virat denied the single. Karthik had to rush back but he fell short and Shariful removed the bails.
Now the confusion started when the appeal went to the 3rd umpire for a decision. Many argued that bails fell before DK was in the crease. But it was Shariful’s hand, not balls that removed the bails.
Although, The third umpire’s decision was out on the big screen. But fans were DK fans were disappointed and expressed it on social media.
In the replay, it was visible that Shakib’s throw was directly into the hands of Shariful. But When he tried to remove the stumps. The ball bounced from the palm of his hand. Both balls and hands were close to the stumps.
It was seen that it was not the balls but the hands that removed the bails from the wicket. For some cricket fans, it looked not out as hands went first. But the third umpire saw the replay closely and concluded that the balls removed the bails first. Thus, Dinesh Karthik was given out.
According to the ICC Rules, even if the ball removed the bails after it bounced back from the bowler’s hand. It would be considered out.
India won the match by 5 runs (DL method) and would play their last match of Super 12 on Sunday against Zimbabwe.