Watch: First Big Screen, Now Spider Cam, Here’s Unique Way Of Announcing Best Fielder Award, Shreyas Iyer Beats Siraj, Kohli For Medal

In the match against New Zealand, Shreyas Iyer produced a fielding gem that left everyone in awe. He went low to his right from square leg and took a breathtaking catch to dismiss the dangerous Kiwi opener, Devon Conway, for a nine-ball duck. This catch was not just a wicket; it was a game-changer. Iyer’s agility and sharp reflexes were on full display, proving that fielding can be just as match-winning as batting or bowling.

Iyer’s remarkable catch was noticed. India’s fielding coach, T Dilip, awarded him the “Fielder of the Match.” What makes this award special is that Iyer won it ahead of the likes of Mohammed Siraj and Virat Kohli, who are renowned for their fielding skills. This recognition highlights the exceptional nature of Iyer’s performance.

Dilip had a surprise in store for Iyer when he announced his name for the award. Instead of a traditional medal or certificate, he orchestrated a unique celebration. Dilip asked everyone to step outside the room, and the entire squad walked back towards the ground. What they witnessed was a drone flying towards them with a photo frame of Iyer’s remarkable catch. The team was astonished, and Ravindra Jadeja had the honor of handing the medal to Iyer while Kuldeep Yadav ensured Iyer wore his photo frame. It was a heartwarming celebration of a moment that showcased the spirit of the Indian cricket team.

Coach Dilip acknowledged the team’s effort in bouncing back after facing challenges in Dharamshala. Despite a few errors and New Zealand’s dominant performance in the first innings, the team’s ground fielding and attacking were outstanding. He praised the team for their resilience and commended their remarkable comeback.

Batting first, New Zealand set a target of 274 for India, thanks to a partnership between Rachin Ravindra and Daryl Mitchell. India’s response was sensational, with a dynamic opening partnership between Rohit Sharma and Shubman Gill. Although India lost a few wickets during the innings, Virat Kohli and Ravindra Jadeja ensured India’s victory with four wickets in hand and two overs to spare. Mohammad Shami’s exceptional five-wicket haul earned him the ‘Player of the Match’ award.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles