Watch- Known As A Gentleman, Williamson Wrongfully Claimed Catch, Apologizes Later

On Monday, November 1, at the Gabba Stadium in Brisbane during the match between England and New Zealand, the 2022 T20 World Cup had its most recent controversy. With qualification on the line, the match is crucial for both teams.

New Zealand captain Kane Williamson claimed the catch of English captain Jos Buttler despite dropping it which sparked a debate in the innings’ sixth over. Williamson is considered one of the most honorable and sportsmanlike cricketers in the world, and the replays of the incident stunned many people as they showed the ball vividly touching the grass after leaving Williamson’s hands. Earlier, Mitchell Santner’s bowling appeared to have produced a spectacular diving catch by the New Zealand captain.
The third umpire looked over the verdict after the umpire had some reservations. Buttler was brought back to bat and continued playing after it became evident from the replays that the catch was not made. The game eventually continued again with no hard feelings between the two teams after Williamson was seen professing regret to Buttler for his actions.

Check out the dropped catch:

Williamson was punished by Butter for the error. He had only scored 8 runs at the time of the lost catch, but he went on to score 73 runs in just 47 balls, helping England post a whopping total of 179. In the 13th over, Daryl Mitchell dropped a much simpler chance of Buttler. At that point, the England captain had scored 40 runs.

With a 40-ball 52, Alex Hales was instrumental in helping England record a large total. Which eventually won them a crucial victory in the Group 1 match.

Related Articles

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

407,929FansLike
73,619FollowersFollow
623,000SubscribersSubscribe

Latest Articles