India’s Pursuit For ICC Title Continues As They Embark On The 2023-25 WTC Cycle, Check Full List Of Matches

Team India’s quest for an ICC title has remained unfulfilled, as they ended up on the losing side in both editions of the World Test Championship (WTC) finals held so far. Their disappointment in the 2021 WTC final against New Zealand in Southampton was followed by another defeat against Australia in the recently concluded 2023 WTC final at The Oval. However, they must shift their focus towards the 2023-25 WTC cycle, where they have a series of challenging assignments ahead.

Team India appeared underprepared in the inaugural WTC final against New Zealand as they were bowled out for 217 and 170 in their two innings. Despite a resilient performance by their bowlers, restricting the Kiwis to 249 in their first innings, India succumbed to an eight-wicket defeat. It was a disappointing batting display that cost them the title.

The recently concluded 2023 WTC final against Australia at The Oval witnessed a similar tale of batting failure for Team India. After Rohit Sharma won the toss and elected to field, India’s bowlers allowed Australia to post a formidable total of 469. However, India’s batters could only manage scores of 296 and 234 on a decent batting track, resulting in a 209-run defeat.

Team India must now put the disappointment of another ICC heartbreak behind them as they prepare for the next WTC cycle. Their journey will commence with a tour of the West Indies, where they will play two Tests from July 12 to July 16 (Dominica) and July 20 to July 24 (Trinidad).

Following the Caribbean tour, India will travel to South Africa for a challenging two-Test series from December 2023 to January 2024. They will then return home to host England for a five-Test series at the beginning of 2024 (January-February). Later in 2024, Bangladesh will visit India for a two-Test series scheduled for September-October.

‘My Relationship With Dhoni And Virat Kohli…’, Gautam Gambhir’s Bold Statement After The Verbal Fight In LSG vs RCB Game

India’s home season continues with a tour by New Zealand in October-November 2024, where they will engage in a three-Test battle. Lastly, Team India’s WTC 2023-25 itinerary includes a tour of Australia as part of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy. They are set to play five Tests Down Under from November 2024 to January 2025.

India’s home schedule for WTC 2023-23 cycle

Five Tests vs. England – January 2024 to February 2024
Two Tests vs. Bangladesh – September 2024 to October 2024
Three Tests vs. New Zealand – October 2024 to November 2024

India’s away schedule for WTC 2023-23 cycle
Two Tests in West Indies – July 2023 to August 2023
Two Tests in South Africa – December 2023 to January 2024
Five Tests in Australia – November 2024 to January 2025

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles