ICC Has Done Major Changes In The Format Of The T20I World Cup 2024

Only a few days must have passed at the end of the T20 World Cup 2022, but the International Cricket Council ( ICC ) has been in preparation for the next T20 World Cup from now on. ICC has made major changes in the format for the T20 World Cup to be held in 2024. The 2024 T20 World Cup is to be played in the West Indies and the United States hosting (USA) and has 20 teams participating.

The tournament with 20 teams will be played in three stages, including a knockout. All teams will be divided into 5 groups totaling 4-4. The top 2 teams from each group will enter the Super-8. After this, all eight teams will be divided into 2 groups of 4-4. Two top teams from both groups will enter the semi-finals in the Super-8 stage. Two teams will make it to the finals through two semi-final matches.

That is, the next T20 World Cup will be much different than the recent T20 World Cup and will not play qualifying rounds nor will there be a Super-12. A total of 16 teams participated in the recent T20 World Cup, with 8 teams directly entering the Super-12 stage. At the same time, 4 four teams made it to Super-12 through qualifying rounds.

Twenty teams across the USA and the West Indies 👊

How the 2024 edition of the #T20WorldCup could look 🏆

The West Indies and the United States, being hosts, qualified directly for the upcoming T20 World Cup. At the same time, the top 8 teams of the Super -12 stage from the T20 World Cup have received a direct entry for the upcoming season. These teams include New Zealand, England, Australia, Sri Lanka, India, Pakistan, South Africa, and the Netherlands. Along with this, Afghanistan and Bangladesh have also got direct entry to this T20 World Cup based on the ICC ranking ( 14 November ).
Eight slots are still left
That is, 12 out of 20 teams have been decided and eight spots are left. The remaining 8 teams will decide on the basis of regional qualification for for the T20 World Cup 2024. Africa, Asia, and Europe have two qualification spots in this qualification, while the US and East Asia Pacific have 1-1 slots left. Teams like Zimbabwe, Namibia, Scotland, and Ireland will have a golden opportunity to make a place through regional qualification.
12 teams that qualified directly in the T20 World Cup 2024: West Indies, America, India, England, New Zealand, Pakistan, Australia, South Africa, Afghanistan, Sri Lanka, Netherlands, and Bangladesh.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles