“Feels Like This Is The Final Team Now…” Former Indian Opener Names The Star Player Who Will Lead India In T20Is

The Indian cricket team’s squad for the upcoming T20I series against West Indies has been unveiled, showcasing promising young talents and experienced players. Hardik Pandya retains the captaincy, with senior players like Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli rested. Yashasvi Jaiswal and Tilak Varma receive their maiden national call-ups, reflecting the team management’s focus on grooming new talent. Aakash Chopra, former Indian cricketer and cricket analyst, believes that Pandya is set to lead the team in T20Is for the foreseeable future, including the upcoming T20 World Cup in 2024.

Hardik Pandya assumed the T20I captaincy after the T20 World Cup in 2022 and has retained the position. Aakash Chopra suggests that Pandya’s captaincy is firmly established and predicts that he will continue leading the Indian T20 team until the next World Cup. Pandya’s leadership qualities and contributions as an all-rounder make him a valuable asset to the team in the shortest format of the game.

“Hardik Pandya, who had been given the captaincy after the T20 World Cup it seems like that’s now the final fixture, that Hardik Pandya will lead the Indian T20 team for times to come, which means until the upcoming World Cup,” Chopra said on his YouTube channel.

Aakash Chopra points out that the omission of senior players signals a continuation of the team’s strategy. Although KL Rahul is unavailable, the decision not to select Rohit and Kohli since the World Cup indicates a deliberate choice to explore different combinations and provide opportunities to younger players.

Regarding Rohit and Virat’s exclusion from the squad, Chopra said, “I feel they had already moved in that direction, and it is still the same; nothing has changed. None of the seniors have been picked. KL Rahul is unavailable, but now it is extended that you have not played Rohit and Kohli since the World Cup.”

With the absence of senior players, batter Suryakumar Yadav has been appointed vice-captain for the five-match T20I series. Yadav’s consistent performance and ability to handle pressure situations have earned him recognition and trust within the team. His appointment as vice-captain showcases the team management’s faith in his leadership qualities and his potential to contribute significantly to the team’s success.

ICC World Cup 2023 Schedule Announced, Click Here To Check Full Schedule

Leg-spinner Ravi Bishnoi has made a comeback to India’s T20I squad. His selection highlights the team’s focus on developing a balanced bowling attack. This squad selection marks the first under the new BCCI chief selector Ajit Agarkar, who recently assumed the role.

India’s T20I squad: Ishan Kishan (wk), Shubman Gill, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tilak Varma, Surya Kumar Yadav (VC), Sanju Samson (wk), Hardik Pandya (C), Axar Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravi Bishnoi, Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik, Avesh Khan, Mukesh Kumar

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles