Ben Stokes Returns In ODI Team, ECB Picked Him In ODI Series Against New Zealand

In a significant development for English cricket, star all-rounder Ben Stokes has decided to retire from one-day internationals (ODIs) to contribute to England’s defense of the Cricket World Cup. Stokes had stepped away from ODIs last year, citing the challenge of playing in all three game formats.

As the captain of England’s Test team and a pivotal player in their Twenty20 World Cup victory last year, Stokes has demonstrated his versatility and impact across different formats. Now, he is set to return to the 50-over format, with his inclusion confirmed for the upcoming four-match one-day series against New Zealand in September. Most players in this squad are expected to form the core group for England’s campaign in the Cricket World Cup, scheduled to begin in India in October.

Luke Wright, England’s national selector, expressed enthusiasm about Stokes’ return, acknowledging the value he brings to the team regarding match-winning ability and leadership. The decision to get Stokes back is expected to bolster England’s already formidable squad, enhancing their chances of defending their Cricket World Cup title.

Luke Wright said, “The return of Ben Stokes only adds to that quality with his match-winning ability and leadership. I am certain that every fan will enjoy seeing him back in an England ODI shirt again.”

Despite a long-standing knee injury that limited his bowling contributions during the recently concluded Ashes series, Stokes showcased his determination and commitment to the team’s cause by actively participating. His return to international one-day cricket will likely energize the team and fans.

Stokes’ legacy in English cricket is highlighted by his memorable performance in the 2019 Cricket World Cup final against New Zealand at Lord’s. His crucial contributions in batting and bowling played a pivotal role in England’s historic victory in a thrilling contest.

England squad for New Zealand series: Jos Buttler (captain), Moeen Ali, Gus Atkinson, Jonny Bairstow, Sam Curran, Liam Livingstone, Dawid Malan, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, Reece Topley, David Willey, Mark Wood, Chris Woakes.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles