Suryakumar Yadav Breaks The Huge Record Of Virat Kohli, Shines With 72 Runs Off Just 37 Balls

Star Indian middle-order batter Suryakumar Yadav made a splendid record with his blistering fifty against Australia. The second ODI between India and Australia is being played at Holkar Cricket Stadium, Indore. In this match, Australia won the toss and elected to bowl first. While batting first, team India posted a total of 399 runs at the loss of five wickets.

In this match, Suryakumar Yadav came to bat at number six where he scored 72 runs off just 37 balls with the help of six fours and six sixes. In this match, he smashes his fifty in just 24 balls. It is the fastest fifty against Australia by any Indian batter. Previously, this record belonged to the star Indian batter Virat Kohli where he got a fifty against Australia in just 27 balls.

Suryakumar Yadav also slammed four consecutive sixes off the first four balls of the 44th over bowled by the Australian all-rounder Cameron Green. Suryakumar became the third Indian player to get this achievement where four consecutive sixes have come in a single over. Before this, Zaheer Khan did this against Zimbabwe back in 2003 and Indian skipper Rohit Sharma is also in the list with four back to back sixes which he smashed in 2017 against Sri Lanka.

For India, Opener Shubman Gill and Shreyas Iyer scored solid hundreds. While Iyer scored 105 runs in 90 balls with the help of 11 fours and three sixes, Shubman Gill got 104 runs in 97 deliveries with the help of six fours and four sixes.

During this time, Shubman Gill completed his half-century in just 37 balls. Along with scoring his 10th ODI half-century, he also set another record. Shubman has surpassed the captain Rohit Sharma in hitting the most sixes this year till now. With 4 sixes in this match, Gill has now got 44 sixes across all formats.

India’s playing XI:

Shubman Gill, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (wicketkeeper and captain), Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Shardul Thakur, Mohammad Shami, Prasidh Krishna.

Australia’s playing XI:

David Warner, Matthew Short, Steven Smith (captain), Marnus Labuschagne, Josh Inglis, Alex Carey (wicketkeeper), Cameron Green, Sean Abbott, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood, Spencer Johnson.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles