Sri Lanka Announced 15-Member Squad For ODI Series Against New Zealand

Chamari Athapaththu, the experienced opener, has again been appointed as the Sri Lankan women’s cricket team captain for the upcoming three-match One-Day International (ODI) series against New Zealand. The series, part of the ICC Women’s Championship, is set to commence later this month.

Sri Lanka has announced a 15-player squad featuring seasoned players and promising talents to take on the formidable New Zealand side. With a focus on spin bowling, the team aims to perform strongly and make their mark in the series.

Chamari Athapaththu’s leadership skills and experience have earned her another opportunity to lead the Sri Lankan team. As a veteran opener, she brings valuable expertise to the squad and is expected to provide stability at the top of the batting order. Athapaththu’s consistent performances with the bat and her ability to lead by example make her a crucial asset for the team’s success.

The Sri Lankan squad boasts an array of quality spinners who are set to play a significant role in the series. The experienced trio of Inoka Ranaweera, Sugandika Kumari, and Oshadi Ranasinghe are expected to lead the spin attack. Their wealth of experience and skill in extracting turn from the pitches will challenge the New Zealand batters. Additionally, Inoshi Fernando, Kavisha Dilhari, and captain Athapaththu offer further slow bowling options, providing flexibility and depth to the team’s bowling lineup.

Teenager Vishmi Gunaratne, who impressed in previous outings, has earned her place in the squad once again and is likely to partner Athapaththu at the top of the batting order. Gunaratne’s potential and ability to perform under pressure make her an exciting prospect for Sri Lanka’s future. The team also includes the experienced Udeshika Prabodhani and the talented 20-year-old Kawya Kavindi among the pace bowlers. Their ability to generate pace and movement will add a different dimension to the team’s bowling attack.

“I wouldn’t say king…” Centurion Batter Challenges Virat Kohli

The first ODI match of the series is scheduled to take place on June 27 at the Galle International Stadium. Following the 50-over contests, Sri Lanka will face New Zealand in three Twenty20 Internationals (T20Is) in Colombo. The Sri Lankan team aims to perform spirited against a formidable opponent like New Zealand. With a good blend of experienced campaigners and young talents, the team is eager to showcase their skills and make a mark in the series.

Sri Lanka squad: Chamari Athapaththu (c), Vishmi Gunaratne, Harshitha Samarawickrama, Nilakshi de Silva, Kavisha Dilhari, Anushka Sanjeewani, Oshadi Ranasinghe, Kawya Kavindi, Sugandika Kumari, Inoka Ranaweera, Udeshika Prabodhani, Hansima Karunaratne, Inoshi Fernando, Imesha Dulani, Hasini Perera

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles