New-Zealand Named Squad For ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023

In the 2023 ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup lead-up, New Zealand has made a significant announcement. Captain Kane Williamson and the experienced bowler Tim Southee have earned a place in the BLACKCAPS squad, marking their selection for a remarkable fourth Cricket World Cup appearance.

The excitement surrounding the 2023 ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup reached a fever pitch when the BLACKCAPS squad was unveiled. This event took place at Papatoetoe High School in Auckland, the alma mater of World Cup squad member Ish Sodhi, adding a touch of nostalgia to the proceedings. The squad for the upcoming tournament in India, starting on October 5, is a blend of seasoned veterans and promising newcomers.

Kane Williamson and Tim Southee, who last graced the tournament in India in 2011, are set to return to the world stage. Their experience and leadership will undoubtedly be crucial for New Zealand’s campaign. Both players bring a wealth of knowledge and skill, having represented their country numerous times.

Six players are poised to make their ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup debut in 2023. Mark Chapman, Devon Conway, Daryl Mitchell, and Glenn Phillips, having previously featured in T20 World Cup squads, are now part of the One Day World Cup squad for the first time. The infusion of their talent and adaptability bodes well for the BLACKCAPS.

Adding to the excitement are all-rounder Rachin Ravindra and batsman Will Young, who have earned their spots in their first senior white-ball World Cup squads. Their selection showcases the depth of talent in New Zealand cricket.

Every successful team needs a stable core, and New Zealand’s squad for the 2023 World Cup is no exception. Trent Boult, Matt Henry, and Tom Latham will make their third appearance in a 50-over World Cup. Tom Latham, who has been named vice-captain, will also continue as the wicketkeeper, equalling a record with 21 catches in the previous event.

Lockie Ferguson, Jimmy Neesham, Mitchell Santner, and Ish Sodhi are joining this formidable squad. These players debuted in England and Wales in the ICC Cricket World Cup in 2019. Their experience from the previous tournament will provide valuable insights and composure during high-pressure situations.

BLACKCAPS coach Gary Stead expressed enthusiasm about the squad selection, emphasizing the significance of representing the nation at a World Cup. Whether it’s the fourth appearance for veterans like Kane Williamson and Tim Southee or the first for the newcomers, Stead acknowledged the excitement surrounding the event.

PCB Seeks Compensation From Jay Shah-Led ACC, Check Full Report

Stead commented, “It’s always a special time to name a tournament team and I’d like to congratulate the 15 players selected today. It’s a great honour to represent your country at a World Cup. From Kane and Tim heading to their fourth tournament to the guys selected for the first time it’s always a very exciting time. As with any squad named for an ICC tournament, there have been some tough calls and there will be some disappointed players. The key for us was finding the right balance for the squad and making sure we had our bases covered for what is going to be a very competitive tournament.”

BLACKCAPS ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Squad:

Kane Williamson (c), Trent Boult, Mark Chapman, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, Tom Latham (vc, wk), Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Rachin Ravindra, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Will Young

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles