England Announced Squad For 3 T20Is Match Against Australia In Women’s Ashes Series

England Women have revealed their squad for the upcoming three T20Is in the 2023 Women’s Ashes series. After suffering a defeat in the solitary Test match, England will now shift their focus to the white-ball segment of the series, comprising three T20Is and three ODIs. The team aims to stage a comeback and reclaim the Women’s Ashes by winning at least five of the six remaining games. The squad features new inclusions and notable comebacks, adding depth and firepower to the team.

The England Women’s squad for the T20I series includes a blend of experienced players and promising talents. Captain Heather Knight will lead the team, with Nat Sciver-Brunt as her deputy.

Danielle Gibson, who was part of the reserves in the 2023 Women’s T20 World Cup, receives her maiden T20I call-up. Her impressive performances have earned her a place in the main squad. Right-arm seamer Issy Wong, who enjoyed success with the Mumbai Indians in the inaugural Women’s Premier League, makes a comeback to the T20I side. She was previously dropped for the Women’s T20 World Cup earlier this year.

England Women’s head coach, John Lewis, expressed his anticipation for the upcoming T20Is in the Ashes series. He acknowledged the exceptional performances of several players in England A’s short-format fixtures and expressed excitement about their return to the national squad.

Lewis said, “We are really looking forward to our IT20s in the next part of our Ashes series. A number of those selected have performed exceptionally well for England A in their short-format fixtures, and it’s great to have them back with us.”

England Women squad: Heather Knight (c), Lauren Bell, Maia Bouchier, Alice Capsey, Kate Cross, Freya Davies, Charlie Dean, Sophia Dunkley, Sophie Ecclestone, Danielle Gibson, Sarah Glenn, Amy Jones, Nat Sciver-Brunt (vc), Issy Wong, Lauren Winfield-Hill, Danielle Wyatt

Schedule: Full fixtures list
1st T20I: July 1, Edgbaston, Birmingham
2nd T20I: July 5, The Kia Oval, London
3rd T20I: July 8, Lord’s, London

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles