Australia Announced 17-Member Squad For The World Test Championship And Ashes, Check Full Report Here

Australia has announced a 17-member squad for the final of the World Test Championship. The title match will be played between India and Australia at the Oval ground in England from 7th June. Cricket Australia announced the team on Wednesday morning. Fast bowler Pat Cummins will lead the team. However, Australian veteran batter Steve Smith will be his deputy.

At the same time, all-rounder Mitchell Marsh has returned to the Test team after 4 years. He played the last test in 2019. Recently, on the Indian tour, Marsh batted furiously in the ODI series. The team announced for the final will also play in the first 2 matches of the Ashes series against England. The team for the last 3 Tests will be announced later.

Josh Inglis and Marcus Harris have also returned to the team announced by Cricket Australia. Harris has been selected as the opener backup. Senior batsman David Warner could not perform well in the Test series on the Indian tour. Even after this, he has been successful in making a place in the team.

Talking about fast bowlers, apart from Pat Cummins, left-arm fast bowlers Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood, and Scott Boland have been included in the team. At the same time, Cameron Green and Mitchell Marsh have been given a chance as fast bowling all-rounders.

Spinners Nathan Lyon and Todd Murphy have a place in the 17-member Kangaroo team. Apart from Alex Carey and Cameron Green, Boland is ready to play the Ashes series for the first time.

Wicketkeeper-batsman Josh Inglis is the only uncapped player in the English team. He has not played a single Test so far. After the World Test Championship, the first Test against England will be played at Edgbaston from 16th June, while the second test will be played at Lord’s from 28th June.

Australia’s XI For World Test Championship:- Pat Cummins (captain), Steve Smith (vice-captain), Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Marcus Harris, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Todd Murphy, Matthew Renshaw, Mitchell Starc and David Warner

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles