Pakistan Announces 16-Member Squad For Sri Lanka Tests, 2 Uncapped Players Make Into The List; Afridi Also Makes His Comeback

Pakistan Cricket Board has announced the two-match Test series against Sri Lanka next month. Fast bowler Shaheen Afridi has been included in the squad for this series while the national selection committee has added two uncapped players, Mohammad Huraira and Aamir Jama to the 16-member squad for Pakistan’s upcoming series. This series also stands as Pakistan’s first participation in the third cycle of the ICC World Test Championship.

The Squad is a good mixture of players from all the departments keeping in mind the condition of Sri Lankan pitches. The team consists of a total of four spinners, four fast bowlers, six specialist batsmen, and two wicketkeeper-batsmen.

Shaheen Afridi will look to get one wicket in the Test against Sri Lanka to reach the tally of 100 Wickets in the longest format of the game. Afridi expressed his happiness about his comeback to the team and said,” “I am very excited to be returning to the Pakistan Test side after a year. I dearly missed Test cricket and it was tough for me to be away from this format.”

He further added, “After missing our entire home season because of the injury I suffered in Sri Lanka, I am eager to make an impactful comeback in the same country and complete a century of wickets in Test cricket. I want to thank my fans who have provided me support in tough times and I am ready for the challenges ahead.”

Pakistan squad For The Test Series Against Sri Lanka:

Babar Azam (c), Mohammad Rizwan (vc & wk), Aamir Jamal, Abdullah Shafique, Abrar Ahmed, Hasan Ali, Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Huraira, Mohammad Nawaz, Naseem Shah, Noman Ali, Salman Ali Agha, Sarfaraz Ahmed (wk), Saud Shakeel, Shaheen Afridi, and Shan Masood

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles