ICC Announced A New Format For The 9th Edition Of T20 World Cup, Starting From 4th June 2024

As per emerging reports, the highly anticipated ninth edition of the T20 World Cup is set to kick off on June 4 next year in West Indies and the United States. The tournament is slated to last 25 days, with the final scheduled on June 30. The International Cricket Council (ICC) is finalizing ten venues across both countries, and the matches will witness twenty teams battling it out in a new format, promising an action-packed and thrilling competition.

The ninth T20 World Cup format will feature a significant change from previous editions. The twenty participating teams will be divided into four groups during the group stage. The top two teams from each group will progress to the Super Eight stage, where they will be divided into two groups of four. The top two teams from each Super Eight group will then advance to the semifinals, setting the stage for an exhilarating knockout phase.

Ten teams have already secured their places in the main event. Alongside the hosts West Indies and the USA the top eight teams from the 2022 T20 World Cup. India, Pakistan, New Zealand, Australia, England, South Africa, and Sri Lanka have automatically qualified. Afghanistan and Bangladesh have earned their spots based on their T20I rankings. Ireland, Scotland, and Papua New Guinea have secured entry through their impressive performances in the regional qualifiers.

Five slots in the tournament are yet to be decided. The Americas region will provide one qualifier, while Africa will have two spots. The Asian region will contribute two qualifiers, adding further excitement to the qualification process. The determination of these remaining qualifiers will occur soon.

Jay Shah: Bumrah Is All Set To Make His Comeback In The Upcoming Series Against Ireland

The ICC team has inspected several shortlisted venues, including Lauderhill in Florida, Grand Prairie Stadium in Dallas, Church Street Park in Morrisville, and Van Cortlandt Park in New York. While Lauderhill has hosted international matches before, the other three venues aspire to achieve international status, which is a prerequisite to host fixtures in the T20 World Cup.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles