Star RCB Pacer Replaces Injured Bumrah For The Rest Matches Against South Africa

On Thursday, BCCI informed that India’s star bowler Jasprit Bumrah is ruled out of South Africa tour because of his back injury. Bumrah had missed the first match due to same reason. Now, he will miss the whole tour and many trusted sources are also claiming that his injury is serious and according to them he is all certain to miss T20 World Cup as well. If these reports proved true then this will be huge loss for Indian team ahead of the T20 World Cup 2022. As of now, the official confirmation is only on this series and all other news are just speculation from trusted sources.

For the remaining game against Proteas, the senior selection committee announced Mohd. Siraj as Bumrah’s replacement. BCCI secretary Jay Shah provided this information.

“The All-India Senior Selection Committee named Mohd. Siraj as the replacement for injured Jasprit Bumrah for the remainder of the T20I series against South Africa,” BCCI secretary Jay Shah said.

Siraj played his last T20I match against Sri Lanka at Dharamsala in February 2022. He recently played county cricket in England with Warwickshire County Cricket Club. His performance in IPL 2022 was not so good, and he took 9 wickets in 15 matches at a lousy economy rate of 10.08. His performance was so good with the red ball, and it is interesting to see how he performs in the upcoming matches against the proteas.

However, Jay Shah did not give any specific information about Bumrah. Jay Shah said, “Bumrah has sustained a back injury and is currently under the supervision of the BCCI Medical Team.”

It will be interesting to see who will take the place of Jasprit Bumrah in the forthcoming mega event if, he will be unable to recover on time.

Also Read: Big Blow For Team India, Jasprit Bumrah Ruled Out Of T20 World Cup 2022

Indian squad for South Africa T20Is: Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeper), R Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Arshdeep Singh, Harshal Patel, Deepak Chahar, Umesh Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Shahbaz Ahmed, Mohd Siraj.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles