ICC Announces Date And Venue For T20 World Cup 2024, Check Full Details

Cricket enthusiasts mark your calendars, for the cricketing world is gearing up for a monumental event – the T20 World Cup 2024. The International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced, setting the stage for an exciting competition that promises to captivate fans worldwide.

The T20 World Cup 2024 dates have been etched in stone; the tournament will be played from the 4th of June, 2024, to the 30th of June, 2024. Spanning 26 action-packed days, this T20 World Cup is set to deliver a cricketing extravaganza of epic proportions.

With 55 matches on the agenda, the T20 World Cup 2024 is not just a cricket tournament; it’s a global cricket carnival. The action kicks off on the 4th of June and culminates with the grand finale on the 30th of June. Cricket enthusiasts can look forward to a month of non-stop excitement, fierce rivalries, and spectacular performances.

ICC has meticulously chosen the battlegrounds for this cricketing showdown. A total of 10 venues have been selected, with 7 situated in the picturesque Caribbean countries. The Caribbean venues include Antigua and Barbuda, Barbados, Dominica, Guyana, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, and Trinidad and Tobago. Additionally, 3 venues are located in the United States (Grand Prairie in Dallas, Broward County in Florida and Nassau County in New York), making this tournament an international affair.

One of the standout features of the T20 World Cup 2024 is the unprecedented participation of 20 teams. This makes it the largest T20 World Cup ever, setting the stage for intense competition and thrilling encounters. 

Cricket West Indies CEO Johnny Grave expressed his enthusiasm for this grand event, emphasizing their commitment to ensuring its success. The stadiums in all the selected venues will be further upgraded, and practice facilities will be enhanced to provide the teams with the best possible infrastructure.

CEO of Cricket West Indies Johnny Grave said: “This is an exciting moment as we announce the Caribbean venues approved to host the largest ICC T20 World Cup in history, with 20 teams playing in 55 matches in June next year.”

‘If You Want To Win The World Cup, Then You Have To Beat…’, Gautam Gambhir Comes With An Interesting Analysis

The West Indies will host an ICC tournament for the third time in history. This is a testament to the region’s passion for cricket and ability to deliver world-class events. The ICC CEO expressed his delight at Cricket West Indies hosting the biggest T20 World Cup ever, highlighting the significance of this tournament on the global cricketing stage.

The United States and West Indies qualify by being hosts. Australia, England, India, Netherlands, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa and Sri Lanka will be part of the tournament after finishing in the top 8 in the 2022 edition.

Bangladesh and Afghanistan qualified, thanks to their position in the ICC Men’s T20I Team Ranking at the end of the previous T20 World Cup. So far, Ireland, Scotland and PNG have booked their berths via the Qualifiers. 

While the dates and venues have been unveiled, cricket enthusiasts worldwide eagerly await the release of the T20 World Cup 2024 schedule.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles