Breaking News: Mahmudullah Dropped As Bangladesh Announced 15 Member Squad For T20 World Cup

On 14th September, Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) declared their team for T20 World Cup 2022. Bangla Tigers will play under the captaincy of experienced all-rounder Shakib-Al-Hasan.

Mahmudullah Riyad is the major omission, as it was speculated that, Mahmudullah place is no more certainty in the T20 team because of his poor form, and team director,Khaled Mhamud Sujon, said that the all-rounder hasn’t performed upto the expectations in the last few months.

In this T20 World cup, the Bangladeshi squad is packed with young superstars. Opener Liton Das, wicketkeeper-batsman Nurul Hasan, and pacer Hasan Mahmud who were not part of the Asia Cup due to some injury are included in the World Cup squad.

Soumya Sarkar, who was dropped after a bad performance in the last edition of the T20 World Cup, has been selected as the Standby player in the squad along with Shoriful Islam, Mahedi Hasan, and Rishad Hossain.

This is the first T20 World Cup of Bangladesh without their three most experienced players, as Mushfiqur Rahim retired just after the Asia Cup a few days back. Whereas Tamim Iqbal announced his retirement on July 2022 and Mahumudullah unpicked .

Bangladesh squad: Shakib Al Hasan (C), Liton Das, Mosaddek Hossain, Afif Hossain, Nurul Hasan Sohan (VC), Sabbir Rahman, Mehedi Hasan Miraz, Mohammad Saifuddin, Taskin Ahmed, Hasan Mahmud, Ebadot Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Yasir Ali, Nasum Ahmed, Najmul Hossain Shanto

Stand-by: Shoriful Islam, Mahedi Hasan, Rishad Hossain, Soumya Sarkar

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles