Aakash Chopra Picks Top-7 Batters For Asian Games, 2 CSK Players Make Into The List

Former Indian opener and one of the most renowned commentators Aakash Chopra has picked Ruturaj Gaikwad for the Asian Games Squad. He feels that there is no place for Ruturaj Gaikwad in the upcoming 2023 ODI World Cup squad, hence he would be there for the Asian Games.

Due to the overlapping schedule of the Asian Games and the 2023 World Cup, the selectors will need to choose two different squads for these events. It will be interesting to see whether Ruturaj Gaikwad is being considered by the selectors for the World Cup or not. Gaikwad is the part of the Indian ODI squad for the West Indies tour.

While talking on his youtube channel, Aakash Chopra said that Gaikwad would be one of the openers in the Asian Games for India.

He said, “I am starting with Ruturaj Gaikwad. I feel Ruturaj Gaikwad’s name might not be there for the World Cup. Already Shubman Gill and Rohit Sharma are there and then Ishan Kishan is there as an opener. Then Shreyas Iyer comes and then you have Virat Kohli. So there I feel a place might not open up.”

While choosing the second opener with Gaikwad, Aakash Chopra has backed the young left-handed batter Yashasvi Jaiswal who has been in terrific form in the recently concluded IPL 2023.

“So I am going with Ruturaj Gaikwad as an opener. He hasn’t got too many opportunities. For some reason, he is not considered your T20 batter. The second player I have picked is Yashasvi Jaiswal. Once again his career is just starting and he has not been even close to the ODI side for the last two-three years.”

ICC World Cup 2023 Schedule Announced, Click Here To Check Full Schedule

For number three, Aakash Chopra has picked Tilak Varma who plays for Mumbai Indians in the IPL. For number four and number five, the former Indian opener has picked two players from KKR, in which Nitish Rana at four and Rinku Singh as the obvious selection at number five.

Going down the line, number six in Chopra’s batting lineup is Jitesh Sharma who is also an effective wicket-keeper while Shivam Dube has captured the seventh position.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles