‘You Have Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma And Hardik Pandya But…’, Harbhajan Singh Reveals The Reason Behind India Not Winning Any ICC Trophy Since 2013

Team India has not won any ICC trophy since 2013 when they won the ICC Champions Trophy under the captaincy of Mahendra Singh Dhoni. Now the former Indian off spinner Harbhajan Singh has stated the reason behind the drought of trophies for a long time.

According to Harbhajan Singh, the lack of collective team performance has been the key reason behind Team India’s failure to win the title in recent ICC events. Now there is a hope for a trophy this year as India is hosting the ODI World Cup this year in October-November.

The veteran spinner had a conversation on News24 where he was asked to reveal the secret behind winning the 2007 T20 and then the 2011 ODI World Cup. At the same time he also talked about India’s failure in the ICC tournaments.

“I don’t know, it’s very difficult for me to say what we had and they don’t. I believe players who play for the country, in whichever era they might be playing, their only motive is to play well and win for the nation.”

He further added,”We played till the semi-finals in 2015 and 2019, the ICC trophy didn’t come. Maybe the ability to punch back after absorbing the pressure has probably been seen in only one or two players. You need to play big tournaments as a team.”

Bhajji said that the senior players like Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma and Hardik Pandya need to have support from the other team players in order to win a trophy.

“You have Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma and Hardik Pandya – they are big players but along with these three players, the rest of the eight to ten players and the team management, everyone has to walk together with the same motive.”

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles