Women’s Premium League Got Their Title Sponsor For Inaugural Edition

BCCI is all set to launch the Women’s Premier League (WPL) for the first time in the history of Womenโ€™s cricket. This will change the position of Women in cricket on the world stage.

For the inaugural season of WPL, TATA Group will be the title sponsor. The Tata Group is already the title sponsor of the IPL. Now they are responsible for taking women’s cricket forward as well. BCCI Secretary Jai Shah announced this. The first season of the Women’s Premier League will be played from March 4 to 26 this year.

Jai Shah tweeted, โ€œI am delighted to announce the Tata Group as the title sponsor of the first Women’s Premier League season. With their support, we are confident we can take women’s cricket to the next level.โ€

The BCCI recently announced the schedule for the first edition of the Women’s Premier League. A total of five teams will play 22 matches in the first season. All the matches will be played at two stadiums in Mumbai โ€“ DY Patil and Brabourne. 11-11 matches will be played in both stadiums. Within 23 days, 20 matches will be played in the league round. Apart from this, an eliminator and a final match will be played. The first match will be played between Gujarat Giants and Mumbai Indians at DY Patil Stadium on March 4. At the same time, four double-header matches will be played during the league round. That is, two matches will be played in a day.

Earlier on February 13, the auction of the Women’s Premier League was held. Smriti Mandhana was the most expensive player. Royal Challengers Bangalore bought her for Rs 3.40 crore. At the same time, England’s Natalie Sciver (MI) and Australia’s Ashley Gardner (GGT) got a bid of Rs 3.20 crore. Both of them were the most expensive foreign players.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles