Veteran Pacer Likely To Miss The Upcoming Test Series Against South Africa, Uncapped Pacer Selected In The 14-Member Squad

The Australian team was knockout from the T20 World Cup 2022 in the league round. After that exit, Australia is trying its best to forget that exit as a bad nightmare as they are looking into the full oscillation for the upcoming World Test Championship and One Day International World Cup 2023. They have won the 2-test match series against West Indies by 2-0 and are now ready to host the South African team for the 3-test, and 3 ODIs match series.

Australia has announced its 14-member squad for the upcoming series against South Africa. In the forthcoming series, star speedster Josh Hazelwood will miss the 1st test match against Proteas due to side strain, and Kangaroo’s skipper Pat Cummins will likely play the 1st test match.

Josh has missed the second test match against West Indies, and Scott Boland has been picked in the 14-member squad as the replacement. But if Pat Cummins will fit, then Scott Boland or Michael Neser will miss the first test match. Both performed impressively in the second test match against the Caribbean side.

Speaking on this issue, Chief Selector George Bailey gave an update on Pat and Josh’s injury and availability for the upcoming assignment.

“Pat continues to improve, bowled with freedom on Saturday and appears likely to play this match, although Josh will need more time for proper recovery. Looking at this, we have retained both speedster Michael Neser and Lance Morris for the next match against Proteas as both have performed well in the previous match,” said George Bailey.

However, uncapped player Lance Morris has also been picked in the 14-man squad for the upcoming series.

“We were impressed as always with their performances that backed up what they have achieved in the past. Lance is a very exciting prospect who will benefit from time with the squad,” he added.

Looking at the World Test Championship, Kangaroos have been trying their best to train some uncapped players so they can perform well in any important clash.

Australia squad: Pat Cummins (capt), Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Marcus Harris, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Lance Morris, Michael Neser, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, David Warner

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles