Two Semi-Finalist Of The T20 World Cup 2022 Have Been Decided

On Saturday, England beat Sri Lanka by 4 wickets in a thriller encounter. Now, the two semi-finalist teams from Group 1 have been decided. New Zealand and England are the first two semi-finalists of this T20 World Cup 2022.

On Friday, New Zealand beat Ireland by 35 runs in the one-sided clash and became the first team to qualify for the semis. Whereas, today England beat Sri Lanka in a thriller encounter by 4 wickets and join the kiwis in the semis.

Earlier in the match, Sri Lanka won the toss and elected to bat first. Their opener gave a solid start to the team and made the partnership of 39 runs for the first wicket. But after the opening partnership Sri-Lankan team faltered and somehow they managed to score 141 on the board. Pathum Nishanka was the highest scorer by scoring 67 runs off 45 deliveries. From England, Mark wood is the most effective bowler, who took 3 wickets, however, Ben Stokes, Chris Woakes, Sam Curran, and Adil Rashid grabbed 1 wicket each.

In the chase, Skipper Jos Buttler and Alex Hales gave a talismanic start to the team and added 75 runs for the first wicket. After them, some bizarre shots were played by the English batters and thus they lost momentum midway. Whereas Ben Stokes played according to the situation and ensured that England should chase this total without any fuss. From Sri Lanka, Wanindu Hasaranga, Dhananjaya de Silva and Lahiru Kumar took 2 wickets each.

Also Read: Breaking News: Indian Team Management Thinking Of Making 2 Major Changes For The Clash Against Zimbabwe

From Group 2, India will play their last super 12 games against Zimbabwe and if they will win their clash then they are set to clash against mighty England in the Semi-final.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles