South Africa Named 15-Member Squad For The T20 World Cup 2022, Star Batsman Misses Out

South Africa has announced the 15-member squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup to be hosted by Australia. The tournament will start on the 16th of October on Australian soil with the hosts looking to defend their title.

The most shocking part of the squad announcement of South Africa is the omission of the team’s star batter Rassie Van Der Dussen who will not be there with the team due to a finger injury. He got this injury during the second test against England.

Some of the team’s senior players such as David Miller, Rilee Rossouw, and Wayne Parnell have managed to make their place for the upcoming mega tournament.

South Africa is going through a transition phase after the retirement of some team legends. Temba Bavuma once again will be seen doing the captaincy duties. The young champ Tristan Stubbs who was bought by Mumbai Indians in the IPL 2022 is also there in the squad.

The fast bowling duties will be once again headed by Kagiso Rabada and Anrich Nortje with the back of all-rounder Dwaine Pretorius

South Africa Squad For T20 World Cup 2022:

Temba Bavuma (captain), Quinton de Kock, Heinrich Klaasen, Reeza Hendricks, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Wayne Parnell, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Rillee Rossouw, Tabraiz Shamsi, Tristan Stubbs.

Reserves: Bjorn Fortuin, Marco Jansen and Andile Phehlukwayo.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles