South Africa Announced The Replacement Of Injured Pretorius For The T20 World Cup 2022

South Africa cricket board announced the replacement of injured Dwaine Pretorious for the T20 World Cup 2022 on Wednesday. Marco Jansen is set to take the place of an injured all-rounder in the squad. Whereas Lizaad Williams has been called up to replace Jansen amongst the traveling reserves.

Previously, Jansen was on the standby list for T20 World Cup. So he is an automatic replacement for Pretorious. The left-arm pacer was drafted into the team for the three-match ODI series against India. He was the highest wicket-taker for Proteas in the last T20 World Cup.

“Marco Jansen drafted in the 15-man squad for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup in Australia. The 22-year-old bowler replaces the injured Dwaine Pretorius after being ruled out due to a fracture sustained to his left thumb during the recent T20 International series against India,” said the Cricket Board of South Africa.

Dwayne Pretorius has played in 8 T20Is in 2022. He took 12 wickets at an impressive average of 20.66. He was a very crucial player for the Africans as all rounder who had very good ability of hitting the ball down the order and in the bowling department was useful in death overs as well. This is a major blow for the proteas ahead of the mega event. South Africa will play the opening encounter match on 24th October.

Also Read: Deepak Chahar Ruled Out Of T20 World Cup 2022, BCCI Named His Replacement

South Africa T20 World Cup squad: Temba Bavuma (captain) , Quinton de Kock, Reeza, Hendricks, Marco Jansen, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Wayne Parnell, Kagiso Rabada, Rilee Rossouw, Tabraiz Shamsi, Tristan Stubbs
Travelling Reserves: Bjorn Fortuin, Andile Phehlukwayo and Lizaad Williams

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles