Senior Indian Test Players Will Lead Star-Studded South Zone In Duleep Trophy 2023, Full Squad Revealed

Hanuma Vihari and Mayank Agarwal, two out-of-favour senior batters, have been appointed as the captain and vice-captain for the South Zone squad in the upcoming Duleep Trophy 2023. The tournament will commence on the 28th of this month in Bangalore. With both Vihari and Agarwal aiming to make a comeback to the Indian Test team, they will be eager to perform well and stake their claim for the upcoming tour of the West Indies, starting from July 12.

The star-studded South Zone squad features two young talents who made a mark in the IPL 2023. Sai Sudharsan, representing the Gujarat Titans (GT), and Tilak Varma, a standout performer for the Mumbai Indians (MI), will be available for selection. Their exceptional performances in the IPL have earned them a place in the South Zone squad, presenting them with an opportunity to showcase their skills at the domestic level.

Additionally, Washington Sundar, who had to withdraw from the IPL 2023 due to a hamstring injury, has also been included in the squad. His presence adds depth to the team and allows him to regain match fitness ahead of the upcoming tours.

KS Bharat, who had a disappointing outing in the World Test Championship final against Australia, will be looking to redeem himself with a strong showing in the Duleep Trophy. Bharat aims to regain his form and re-establish himself as a contender for the national side.

After India’s defeat in the WTC Final 2023, the selectors are expected to consider reshuffling the Test team. The Duleep Trophy provides an ideal platform for players like Vihari, Agarwal, Sudharsan, Varma, Sundar, and Bharat to impress the selectors and stake their claims for national team selection. A strong performance in this prestigious domestic tournament could put them back in contention for the upcoming international fixtures.

‘My Relationship With Dhoni And Virat Kohli…’, Gautam Gambhir’s Bold Statement After The Verbal Fight In LSG vs RCB Game

South Zone squad: Hanuma Vihari (c), Mayank Agarwal (vc), Sai Sudharsan, Ricky Bhui (wk), KS Bharat (wk), R Samarth, Washington Sundar, Sachin Baby, Pradosh Ranjan Paul, Sai Kishore, V Kaverappa, V Vyshak, KV Sasikanth, Darshan Misal, and Tilak Varma

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles