Saurashtra Won Vijay Hazare Trophy 2022, New Rising Star Becomes Hero Of The Finals

Saurashtra beat Maharashtra by 5 wickets to win the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2022 in the final encounter at Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad.

Saurashtra’s Opener batter Sheldon Jackson played a spectacular inning of 133 off 136 and helped his team to chase down the total in 47th overs.

Earlier, Saurashtra won the toss and decided to bat first. Maharashtra’s start was not as good as previous matches in this series, and they lost the wickets at regular intervals. Still, from the one end Skipper, Ruturaj Gaikwad was scoring runs and once again hit the century. Except for Ruturaj 108, no other batter from Maharashtra could show some class with the bat, and the opponent stopped them on 248/9. From the Saurasthrian derby, Chirag Janis strucked 3 wickets; however, Unadkat, Parth Bhut, and Prerak Mankad took 1-1 wickets each.

In the chase, Saurasthra’s opener showed a classy performance by adding 125 runs for the first wicket and building a ladder for others to chase down the total effortlessly. One end was sealed by wicketkeeper batter Sheldon Jackson who played a splendid inning of 133 off 136, his victorious innings laced with 12 fours and five sixes.

From Maharashtra, pacers Mukesh Chowdary and Vicky Ostwal took 2-2 wickets each; however, Satyajeet Bachhav sealed one wicket to his name.

Ruturaj Gaikwad achieved another milestone in this match and became the first batter to hit the most centuries (12) in the history of the Vijay Hazare Trophy. However, the splendid performance of Sheldon Jackson was overwhelming, and it would open place him in the leading Indian squad.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles