Sanjay Bangar Named India’s Playing XI For The ODI World Cup 2023 Clash Against Australia

As the ICC ODI World Cup 2023 approaches, cricket enthusiasts worldwide are excitedly buzzing, anticipating a thrilling tournament with memorable moments. India is privileged to host this year’s competition, and the spotlight is squarely on the Men in Blue. Fans eagerly await India’s campaign, with the tournament commencing on October 5, led by the dynamic Rohit Sharma. India’s first match, slated for October 8 in Chennai, will see them take on the formidable Australia, setting the stage for an epic encounter.

In the lead-up to this high-stakes clash, former India batting coach Sanjay Bangar has stirred the cricketing world by revealing his carefully selected playing XI for the Indian team. While the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) had already unveiled India’s 15-member squad for the World Cup, Bangar’s selections have sparked discussions and debates among fans and experts alike.

In an insightful interview on Star Sports, Bangar provided valuable insights into his selection process, considering the pitch conditions in Chennai, which are expected to favor spin bowlers. Bangar’s XI choices represent a well-thought-out strategy to secure victory against the formidable Australian side.

One notable aspect of Bangar’s selection is his preference for a spin in the bowling department. He chose Hardik Pandya as the third seamer, favoring Axar Patel over Shardul Thakur. Bangar entrusted the pace duo of Mohammed Siraj and Jasprit Bumrah to lead the fast-bowling attack. Additionally, he included the versatile Ravindra Jadeja as the all-rounder and Kuldeep Yadav as the specialist spinner to exploit the spin-friendly conditions in Chennai.

Bangar’s batting order choices emphasize a blend of experience and promising talent. His preferred top-order batsmen include Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, and Shreyas Iyer—a formidable quartet capable of anchoring the innings and providing explosive firepower when needed.

PCB Seeks Compensation From Jay Shah-Led ACC, Check Full Report

A Noteworthy Decision

Bangar selected Ishan Kishan as the wicketkeeper-batter over KL Rahul in a significant decision that deviates from popular sentiment. This choice underscores Bangar’s confidence in Kishan’s ability to deliver match-winning performances on the grand World Cup stage.

Sanjay Bangar’s Indian XI for the Clash Against Australia:
Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles