Sachin Tendulkar And Jay Shah Applaud As India Wins SAFF Championship In Thrilling Finals

In a remarkable display of resilience and determination, the Indian football team emerged victorious in the South Asian Football Federation (SAFF) Championship, securing their ninth title. The thrilling finale occurred at the Sri Kanteerava Outdoor Stadium, culminating in a captivating penalty shootout against Kuwait. The Indian cricket fraternity celebrated the team’s triumph, expressing joy on social media platforms.

The championship match began on a challenging note for the home side, as Kuwait’s Shabib Al Khaldi scored an early goal in the 14th minute. However, the Blue Tigers showcased unwavering spirit, and Lallianzuala Chhangte brilliantly equalized in the 38th minute with a sensational offensive move.

Both teams displayed immense intensity in the second half, leaving no stone unturned to tilt the match in their favour. Despite their relentless efforts, the scores remained level at the end of regular time, leading to an extra-time period that also ended in a stalemate.

With the score tied at 1-1 and no clear winner after extra time, the match proceeded to a nerve-wracking penalty shootout. Even after each side missed one penalty, the deadlock persisted with a score of 4-4, intensifying the atmosphere as the game approached sudden death.

Naorem Mahesh Singh emerged as the hero for India, confidently converting the next penalty. The pressure was then on Kuwait’s captain, Khaled Hajiah, to keep his team’s hopes alive. However, India’s goalkeeper Gurpreet Singh Sandhu made a stellar save, denying the Kuwaiti skipper and sealing the victory for the Blue Tigers. The moment sparked euphoria among the passionate crowd in Bangalore.

ICC World Cup 2023 Schedule Announced, Click Here To Check Full Schedule

Remaining undefeated throughout the tournament, the Indian team achieved a historic feat by clinching their ninth SAFF Championship title. This remarkable accomplishment drew widespread praise from the Indian cricket community, with BCCI Secretary Jay Shah and legendary cricketer Sachin Tendulkar among those extending heartfelt congratulations to Sunil Chettri’s resilient squad.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles