Rising Stars: Jake Fraser-McGurk and Matt Short in T20 World Cup 2024 Reserves

Jake Fraser-McGurk, Australia’s fearless opener, has been included in the final roster for the T20 World Cup 2024. Alongside spinner Matt Short, Fraser-McGurk—who wasn’t on the original roster—has been added as a traveling reserve. Following the batter’s amazing debut season in the Indian Premier League 2024, where he instilled dread in the opposition squad, Fraser-McGurk is expected to be called up.

Everyone in the IPL was amazed by Fraser McGurk’s six-hitting prowess as the opener hammered his way to 330 runs at an unbelievable strike-rate of 234.04 in just 9 matches. The young player had previously responded to his rejection by the side by speculating that he might not have been prepared for a major competition such as the T20 World Cup.

Following the announcement of the final team, Australia’s head coach Andrew McDonald told cricket.com.au that Fraser-McGurk was a strong candidate to make the final 15. The head coach disclosed that Fraser-McGurk was left off the starting lineup due to the top order being loaded with players like David Warner, Travis Head, Mitchel Marsh, and Cameron Green.

“When you analyze Jake’s IPL performance, you can see that he was a real contender for the final 15. Matthew Short was also in that group. Andrew McDonald told cricket.com.au, “His form in the Big Bash League has been exceptional for a considerable amount of time. He has also shown signs of success at the international level, however occasionally he has had to play a different position.”

Being on the periphery may require you to take on multiple roles at different times, and he has truly embraced some middle-order opportunities. We are aware that he and Jake are most suited at the head of the list, which is why they weren’t selected in the first 15,” McDonald continued.

The head coach said, “But if something moves, we think both of them could be able to line up wherever in that batting order. On June 5, Australia is set to take on Oman in their opening tournament encounter.

Australia’s final T20 World Cup squad

Mitch Marsh (c), Ashton Agar, Pat Cummins, Tim David, Nathan Ellis, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa. Travelling reserves: Jake Fraser-McGurk, Matt Short

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles