Pat Cummins Ruled Out Of ODI Series, Australia Cricket Announced New Skipper Against India

Everything is not going well in the Australian camp from the start of this tour. Earlier in the test series, they lost their key players due to injuries, and now, ahead of the ODI series, their regular skipper Pat Cummins decided not to play the ODI series.

Australia suffered a significant setback before the fourth Test match (IND vs AUS) starting in Ahmedabad. The team’s regular captain, Pat Cummins, hasn’t played the third test match because his mother’s health wasn’t good. And he hasn’t featured in the fourth test match because his mother died. In his absence, Steve Smith will be seen handling the team command in the ODI series against the Indian team.

Earlier, under his captaincy, the Australian team won the third test match in Indore and drew the fourth test match in Ahmedabad.

Australia’s deadly fast bowler Jhye Richardson is already ruled out of the ODI series against India due to injury. He is battling a hamstring injury and has not been fully fit. Due to this, Richardson will not be able to be a part of the ODI series against India. Nathan Ellis will replace the injured Jhye Richardson in the squad for the ODI series.

This information is provided by the Australian head coach McDonald, and he also suggested that the team will play series with the maximum number of all-rounders. That means Marcus Stoinis and Cameroon Green will fit in the team along with Ashton Agar, Mitchell Marsh and Glenn Maxwell.

“We’ve got a couple of conversations around the balance of the team we want to play; we’ve gone in with a structure with eight batters to bat a little bit deeper; we’ve tried that. So there’ll be a mix of combinations as we lead into the World Cup. There are a lot of all-rounders picked in the squad, and can they all play in one team? So we’ve got to answer a few of those questions,” said McDonald.

Australia New Squad For ODI Series Against India

Batsman: Steve Smith (c), Travis Head, Marnus Labuschagne, David Warner

Wicket Keeper: Alex Carey, Josh Inglis

Bowler: Nathan Ellis, Sean Abbott, Mitchell Starc, Adam Zampa

All Rounder: Cameron Green, Ashton Agar, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis

India vs. Australia ODI Series

1ST 17TH March Wankhede Stadium
2nd 19th March YS Raja Reddy Stadium
3rd 22nd March MA Chidambaram Stadium

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles