BCCI Reveals Bumrah’s Replacement Date

Pacer Jasprit Bumrah’s exclusion from the T20 World Cup in Australia was officially announced by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Monday, October 3. This was a major setback for the Men in Blue. Bumrah had played a few T20Is against Australia following a two-month injury layoff, but the injury worsened and forced him to miss another four to six weeks of action. However, the Indian team was compelled to postpone naming the replacement rather than choosing to do so because they wanted to consider a few more choices.

According to the sources replacement for Jasprit Bumrah will be announced on October 14, Friday. Deepak Chahar, who was named as a reserve player in the squad was expected to be one of the contenders to replace Bumrah on the squad. But he has also sustained an injury and is now out of the World Cup. Only two bowlers remain in contention, Mohammed Shami and Mohammed Siraj. Mohammed Shami was struck with COVID recently. Due to this, he has not played much cricket in 2022.
On the other hand, Mohammed Siraj can be the most suitable choice for the selectors looking at his recent form. In the 3-match ODI series against South Africa which was concluded on 11 October, Tuesday, Siraj delivered an outstanding bowling performance. He took 5 wickets in 3 matches and was also awarded Player of the series for his performance.
Indian fans will be keen to know who will eventually take the flight to Australia to replace Bumrah.
Rest 14- member squad has already reached Australia and will play their first warm-up match against the hosts on 17th October, Monday. India will play their first match of the Super-12 round against arch-rivals Pakistan in Melbourne on 23 October.

Also Read : R Ashwin Shuts The Mouth Of Ramiz Raza, Gives Blunt Reply Over ‘Billion Dollar Team’ statement

Indian Squad for the World Cup: Rohit Sharma (c), KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant, Dinesh Karthik, Hardik Pandya, R Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh.
Standby Players: Mohammad Shami, Shreyas Iyer, Ravi Bishnoi, Deepak Chahar

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles