New Zealand Announced The Test Squad For Series Against Pakistan With New Skipper In The Test

The New Zealand team has announced their 15-member test team squad for the Pakistan tour. Regular skipper Kane Williamson stepped down as the skipper, and Tim Southee has been announced as the new skipper of the Kiwi Test Team. In the tour to Pakistan, the Kiwi team will play two test match series and three ODI match series against the host.

New Zealand team management backed veteran Kiwi spinner Ish Shodi for the test squad, and he played his last test match in 2018. Ish Shodi has more than 100 wickets to his name in the T20I format, and he is popularly known as a T20 specialist, but he has a chance to prove his excellence in the longest format of cricket. He also grabbed 279 wickets in first-class cricket, so this is the best opportunity for the T20I specialist to show his class with the red ball once again for the national team on the sub-continent pitch, where he will get the turning wicket. He has played 17 test matches with 41 wickets to his name.

Speaking on the Ish Shodi selection for the test series squad, head coach Gary Stead stated that we have backed him because of his experience and skills of playing in Asian conditions.

Ish Shodi has been playing cricket for the New Zealand team for 10 years, and We are backing him for his skills and experience,” said Head Coach Gary Stead.

The Uncapped speedster Blair Tickner has been picked this time in the 15-member test squad; however, Williamson will continue his batter role and help skipper Tim Southee and vice-captain Tom Latham.

New Zealand Test squad: Tim Southee (c), Michael Bracewell, Tom Blundell (wk), Devon Conway, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, Daryl Mitchell, Henry Nicholls, Ajaz Patel, Glenn Phillips, Ish Sodhi, Blair Tickner, Neil Wagner, Kane Williamson, Will Young.

Looking at the upcoming series against Pakistan, Head coach Gary Stead explained that we are excited about the upcoming series and we are watching the ongoing series very closely.

“It will be a new experience and the challenge that excites this group. We’ve naturally been keeping an eye on the current Test series against England, particularly the last two Tests of the series held in Multan and Karachi, where we will play. This series will be the first for Tim Southee as Test captain and together we’re both looking forward to getting into our work for the tour,” the head coach added.

The first test encounter of the series will be played on 26th December 2022, and the second test match will be played on 3rd January 2023.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles