Nepal Announces 16-Member Squad For ICC World Cup 2023 Qualifier

The Cricket Association of Nepal’s selection panel has revealed the 16-member squad for the upcoming 2023 ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier, set to commence on 18th June in Zimbabwe. Rohit Poudel has been appointed as the team’s captain, marking his first major tournament. Nepal’s recent track record has been impressive, with only one loss in their last 18 matches, enabling them to secure qualification for both the ICC World Cup qualifiers and the Asia Cup.

The qualifier tournament will feature ten teams divided into two groups. Group A includes West Indies, Zimbabwe, Netherlands, Nepal, and the USA, while Group B comprises Sri Lanka, Ireland, Scotland, Oman, and the UAE. These teams will compete for the final two spots in the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023, held in India. Given Nepal’s strong performances in recent times, they have the potential to make a significant impact and secure a place in the World Cup, scheduled for October-November in India.

The ICC ODI World Cup 2023 will be hosted by India, with the host country already receiving a direct entry into the tournament. New Zealand, England, Bangladesh, Pakistan, Australia, Afghanistan, and South Africa have already qualified. Two spots remain open for the teams participating in the World Cup qualifier round, which is set to kick off on 18th June. The top two teams from this qualifier will secure their places in the ODI World Cup 2023.

The selected squad for Nepal:- Kushal Bhurtail, Asif Sheikh (wicketkeeper), Gyanendra Malla, Rohit Poudel (captain), Kushal Malla, Arif Sheikh, Deepender Singh Airey, Gulsan Jha, Sompal Kami, Karan KC, Sandeep Lamichhane, Bhim Sarki, Lalit Rajvanshi, Pratish JC, Arjun Saud (wicketkeeper), and Kishore Mahto

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles