Mumbai Indians Pick ‘MI-West Indies’ Combined Playing XI, Kieron Pollard Named As The Captain

After clinching the first-ever Major League Cricket (MLC) championship, the MI franchise revealed a united playing XI eleven comprising all the prime West Indies cricket icons. These players had previously represented the MI franchise in various T20 leagues worldwide, including the Indian Premier League (IPL), South African T20 (SA20), International T20 (ILT20), and the recently won MLC.

While naming the eleven players, Mumbai Indians (MI) appointed Kieron Pollard as the captain, while Nicholas Pooran, who held leadership responsibilities for a specific time during the MLC will take up the wicketkeeping duties. Left-handed batter Evin Lewis and the right-handed batter Lendl Simmons have been designated as the opening batsmen. It’s worth highlighting that Lewis delivered exceptional performances by scoring two impressive centuries for the team in 2017 and 2019. Simmons played a crucial role in contributing to the franchise’s victories in the IPL during 2015 and 2017.

While choosing the team, they have placed Dwayne Smith at number three position. He has played for MI for three years where he gathered 945 runs. Smith contributed to the victory in the IPL during 2013, and he also played a pivotal role in winning the Champions Trophy of 2013.

They franchise have placed Nicholas Pooran at number four, captain Kieron Pollard at number five and all-rounder Dwayne Bravo at number six.

The other players in this playing XI are Sherfane Rutherford, Fabien Allen, Alzarri Joseph, Jerome Taylor, and Krishmar Santokie.

MI-West Indies Combined Playing XI:

Evin Lewis, Lendl Simmons, Dwayne Smith, Nicholas Pooran (wk), Kieron Pollard (c), Dwayne Bravo, Sherfane Rutherford, Fabian Allen, Alzarri Joseph, Jerome Taylor, Krishmar Santokie

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles