IPL Flashback: Top 3 All Time Biggest Innings In History Of IPL, No Indians In The List

The 16th edition of the Indian Premier League(IPL) is all set to start on 31st March where the four-time champion Chennai Super Kings will take on the defending champions Gujarat Titans. Since its inception in 2008, the tournament has witnessed thunderous innings from the superstars of batting.

Chris Gayle’s 175* off 66 balls (RCB vs PWI, 2013)

Chris Gayle’s 175* is widely regarded as the greatest innings in IPL history. Playing for Royal Challengers Bangalore against Pune Warriors in 2013, Gayle blasted an unbeaten 175 off just 66 balls, including 13 fours and 17 sixes. He scored the fastest century in T20 cricket history, reaching the landmark off just 30 balls. Gayle’s innings were full of incredible shots, including some mammoth sixes that cleared the stadium. He helped RCB score a massive total of 263/5, which remains the highest team score in IPL history. Pune Warriors were bowled out for just 133, giving RCB a huge win by 130 runs.

AB de Villiers’ 133* off 59 balls (RCB vs MI, 2015)

AB de Villiers’ unbeaten 133 off 59 balls is another innings that is often mentioned among the greatest in IPL history. Playing for RCB against Mumbai Indians in 2015, de Villiers came to the crease with his team struggling at 17/2 in the third over. He played a breathtaking inning, hitting 19 fours and 4 sixes, and taking RCB to a massive total of 235/1. de Villiers played some incredible shots, including a reverse sweep off the fast bowler Mitchell McClenaghan. He was particularly harsh on Lasith Malinga, hitting him for 28 runs in one over. Mumbai Indians could only manage 196/7 in reply, giving RCB a comfortable win by 39 runs.

Brendon McCullum’s 158* off 73 balls (KKR vs RCB 2008)

Brendon McCullum’s unbeaten 158 off 73 balls was the first century in IPL history, and it remains one of the most memorable innings in the tournament’s history. Playing for Kolkata Knight Riders against Royal Challengers Bangalore in the first match of the inaugural IPL season in 2008, McCullum played an incredible innings that set the tone for the tournament. He hit 10 fours and 13 sixes, including some incredible shots that cleared the boundary with ease. McCullum’s innings helped KKR score a mammoth total of 222/3, which was then the highest team total in IPL history. RCB could only manage 82/6 in reply, giving KKR a huge win by 140 runs.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles