IPL 2023: Gaikwad, Jadeja Blast As CSK Beat GT By 15 Runs, Dhoni’s Team To Play The Final For The Record 10th Time

Chennai Super Kings defeated Gujarat Titans by 15 runs in the first qualifier match of the Indian Premier League 2023 played at the M.A. Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai on Tuesday. This is the 10th time that the Chennai team has reached the finals. It is also the first victory for Chennai Super Kings over Gujarat Titans. GT will now play the qualifier 2 against the winner of Mumbai Indians vs LSG Clash.

In the first qualifier match played in Chepauk, Gujarat Titans won the toss and decided to bowl first. After that, Ruturaj Gaikwad played another magnificent innings for the Super Kings. The young opener scored 60 runs off 44 balls with the help of 7 fours and 1 six. Gaikwad formed a crucial partnership of 87 runs for the first wicket with Devon Conway. On the other hand, Conway scored 40 runs off 34 balls.

For the Gujarat Titans, Mohit Sharma and Mohammed Shami took two wickets each. On the other hand, Darshan Nalkande, Rashid Khan, and Noor Ahmed also claimed one wicket each.

Chennai Super Kings had set a target of 173 runs after losing the toss. Shubman Gill scored the highest runs for the Titans. Gill scored 42 runs off 38 balls. Besides him, Rashid Khan also played an innings of 22 runs off 16 balls, but another batsman failed to contribute which led GT team to a 15-run loss.

For CSK, Deepak Chahar, Maheesh Theekshana, Ravindra Jadeja, and Mathisha Pathirana claimed two wickets each. Meanwhile, Tushar Deshpande also took one wicket.

The CSK opener Ruturaj Gaikwad who scored 60 runs received the player of the match award.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles