England’s Path To Defend Their ODI World Cup 2023 Title Revealed, Check Full Schedule

The ICC and BCCI have unveiled the eagerly anticipated schedule for the ICC Men’s ODI World Cup 2023, which is set to be held in India. Defending champions England will begin and conclude the league stage of the tournament with their opening match against New Zealand on October 5 in Ahmedabad, a rematch of the thrilling 2019 final at Lord’s.

England’s campaign starts with a high-profile clash against New Zealand in Ahmedabad, setting the stage for an exciting tournament opener. They will then travel to Dharamsala to face Bangladesh on October 10, followed by a match against Afghanistan in Delhi on October 14. On October 21, England will take on South Africa in Mumbai before facing a qualifier team in Bengaluru on October 26.

After a brief journey north to Lucknow, England will lock horns with India on October 29, testing their mettle against the formidable hosts. Returning to Ahmedabad, they will face Australia on November 4, renewing their historic rivalry. The final two league matches will be against the other qualifier teams, with the first on November 8 in Pune and the last against Pakistan on November 12 in Kolkata.

The top four teams from the league stage will progress to the semi-finals, scheduled in Mumbai and Kolkata on November 15 and 16, respectively. These knockout matches will be accompanied by reserve days to ensure uninterrupted play. The ultimate battle for the coveted trophy will unfold in Ahmedabad on November 19, where the finalists will compete for glory.

The remaining two spots will be determined through Zimbabwe’s ongoing World Cup qualifiers. Sri Lanka, West Indies, Ireland, Nepal, Netherlands, Oman, Scotland, UAE, USA, and Zimbabwe compete in the main event.

England’s Schedule for World Cup 2023
1st Match, 5th October: vs. New Zealand (Ahmedabad)
2nd Match, 10th October: vs. Bangladesh(Dharmshala)
3rd Match, 14th October: vs. Afghanistan (Delhi)
4th Match, 21st October: vs. South Africa (Mumbai)
5th Match, 26th October: vs. Qualifier (Bengaluru)
6th Match, 29th October: vs. India (Lucknow)
7th Match, 4th November: vs. Australia (Ahmedabad)
8th Match, 8th November: vs. Qualifier (Pune)
9th Match, 12th November: vs. Pakistan (Kolkata)

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles