Breaking News: Australia Announces Playing XI For First Test Against New Zealand

The clash of heavyweights is all set to unfold as Australia is going to take on New Zealand. Both teams are set to face each other in Wellington on February 29.

However, ahead of the first game of the series, Australia has decided to field an unchanged 11 that played against the West Indies in the series day-night test in Brisbane.

The current world test champion has made only one change in their lineup after the retirement of David Warner, as Cameron Green is replacing the stalwart in the playing 11.

Green will be batting in the middle order in the absence of David Warner against the Blackcaps in Wellington.

The rise of Steve Smith in the top order as an opener has led to the promotion of Green in the batting order.

The all-rounder previously batted in the lower middle order for the defending champions and was put on the bench after Mitchell Marsh’s rise to form.

The Australian team is currently placed at number three in the WTC points table.

Australia XI:Steve Smith, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Cameron Green, Travis Head, Mitchell Marsh, Alex Carey (wk), Pat Cummins (c), Mitchell Starc, Nathan Lyon, and Josh Hazlewood.

Ashwin’s Century: Rewriting Cricket History against England

Australia Test squad:Pat Cummins (c), Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Michael Neser, Matthew Renshaw, Steve Smith (vc), Mitchell Starc

New Zealand Test squad:Tim Southee (c), Tom Blundell (wk), Devon Conway, Matt Henry, Scott Kuggeleijn, Tom Latham, Daryl Mitchell, Will O’Rourke, Glenn Phillips, Rachin Ravindra, Mitchell Santner, Neil Wagner, Kane Williamson, and Will Young.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles