BCCI Announces 15-member Squad For Asian Games, Gaikwad To Lead; No Place For Prithvi Shaw

Board of control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced a second-string team for the Asian games which is scheduled to be played in Hangzhou. The tournament will be played in T20 format from September 28 to October 8th. Talking about the team, Ruturaj Gaikwad has been assigned as the captain of the Indian side while there are all the good names who have performed brilliantly in the IPL 2023.

Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh and Yashasvi Jaiswal are also part of the team.The wicketkeeper of Punjab Kings Jitesh Sharma who has left his impact on the selectors has been also selected for the Asian Games. Washington Sundar who has been out from the team due to his injury has also made his place into the team. The surprising part is Prithhvi Shaw has once again been overlooked for such tournaments.

Cricinformer wants to inform that, Cricket had been the part of Asian Games in 2010 and 2014 but India did not show their interest in the event. It will be the first time the men in blue will show their presence in the marquee event.

INDIA Mens Squad

Ruturaj Gaikwad (capt), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Rahul Tripathi, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Jitesh Sharma (wk), Washington Sundar, Shahbaz Ahmed, Ravi Bishnoi, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Mukesh Kumar, Shivam Mavi, Shivam Dube, Prabhsimran Singh (wk)

Reserves: Yash Thakur, R Sai Kishore, Venkatesh Iyer, Deepak Hooda, B Sai Sudharsan

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles