Bangladesh Announces Squad For T20I Series Against India

The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) has revealed a 16-member squad for the upcoming three-match T20I series against India, set to commence on July 9. The team selection has come with a few surprises, as two senior players, Jahanara Alam, and Fargana Hoque, have been omitted from the squad.

Jahanara Alam, featured in only one match during the previous series against Sri Lanka in May, has been left out, along with Fargana Hoque, Lata Mondal, and Fariha Trisna. Additionally, left-handed batter Rubya Haider was excluded from the squad due to a knee injury.

Nigar Sultana Joty has been appointed as the side’s captain, with all-rounder Nahida Akter as her deputy. Salma Khatun, an experienced player who missed the series against Sri Lanka, has returned to bolster the spin attack. The squad includes Dilara Akter, Shanthi Rani, Shorna Akter, and pace bowler Marufa Akter.

The decision to rest Salma Khatun, as mentioned by selector Manjurul Islam, was attributed to the demanding cricket schedule. Selector Sajjad Ahmed stated that Salma’s return was intended to strengthen the spin attack but refrained from commenting on the players who were dropped from the squad.

Bangladesh’s batting lineup relies heavily on experienced players such as Nigar Sultana and Shamima Sultana. The squad comprises only two pacers, Marufa Akter and Disha Biswas. At the same time, spinners Salma, Fahima Khatun, Nahida Akter, Ritu Mondol, Sanjida Akter, and Sultana Khatun will be the mainstay of the spin attack.

The series against India, as per the ICC Women’s FTP 2022-25, will see Bangladesh hosting both ODIs and T20Is. The T20I series is scheduled for July 9, 11, and 13, followed by three ODIs on July 16, 19, and 22. All matches will occur at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur, Dhaka.

ICC World Cup 2023 Schedule Announced, Click Here To Check Full Schedule

Bangladesh T20I Squad: Nigar Sultana (c, wk), Nahida Akter, Dilara Akter, Shathi Rani, Shamima Sultana, Sobhana Mostary, Murshida Khatun, Shorna Akter, Ritu Moni, Disha Biswas, Marufa Akter, Sanjida Akter Meghla, Rabeya Khan, Sultana Khatun, Salma Khatun, Fahima Khatun

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles