AUS vs IND, 1st T20I: Australia beat India by 4 wickets in the high scoring game

The three T20I series between AUS vs IND started on September 20 ( Tuesday) in Mohali. Australian team takes a lead of 1-0 in the series after winning the first match with 4 wickets in hand. Matthew Wade and Tim David finished the match for Australia to a famous win.

Batting first India registered a total of 208 at the loss of 6 wickets in 20 overs. Australia chased down the target in 19.4 overs. All-rounder Cameron Green scored 61 runs only in 30 balls.

Australia won the toss and opted to field first at IS Bindra Stadium, Mohali. India lost both Rohit and Virat inside the powerplay, putting the team in trouble on 35-2. KL Rahul and Suryakumar Yadav kept the run rate competitive with a handsome partnership of 68 runs. KL Rahul scored 55 runs in 35 balls with 4 fours and 3 sixes. Hardik Pandya finished the Indian innings 71 runs in only 30 balls with 7 fours and 5 sixes, 3 of them coming in the last over of the innings.

With the help of brilliant batting effort India scored a competitive total of 208 runs. For Australia Nathan Ellis took 3 wickets, Josh Hazlewood took 2 wickets and Cameron Green took 1 wicket.

Australia started the chase with a positive mindset with captain Aaron Finch hitting a six on the first ball of the second innings. Kangaroo batters utilised the powerplay with full potential and scored at a run rate of 10 run per over. All rounder Cameron Green opened the innings and scored a phenomenal 61 runs in 30 balls with 8 fours and 4 sixes. The chase was never out of hand for Australia due to the help of Steve Smith ( 35 runs in 24 balls), Tim David ( 18 runs in 14 balls). Batting masterclass by Matthew Wade took the match away from Indian bowler who scored 45 runs only in 21 balls with 6 fours and 2 sixes.

For India only Axar Patel bowled well taking 3 wickets in 4 overs giving only 17 runs. Apart from him, no Indian bowler could pressurise the Australian batters. Umesh Yadav took 2 wickets and Yuzvendra Chahal took one wicket.

Cameron Green was awarded Player of the match for his match winning innings as an opener.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles