Alastair Cook Named His All-Time ‘Ashes XI’, No Place For Legends

The All-Time Ashes XI is a formidable team, showcasing the best players from England and Australia who have excelled in the Ashes series over the years. This lineup combines robust batting, potent bowling, and inspirational leadership, making it a dream team for any cricket fan.

The opening pair of Matthew Hayden and Andrew Strauss provides a strong foundation for the team. Hayden’s aggressive and intimidating batting style set the tone for many memorable Australian victories in the Ashes. At the same time, Strauss’s cunning tactics and calm demeanor as England’s captain added stability and leadership to the team.

At number three, Ricky Ponting brings his modern-day greatness and aggressive captaincy style, contributing to Australia’s dominance during his era. Joe Root, at number four, adds his proficiency against all types of bowling and his ability to convert starts into big scores.

Steve Smith, an unorthodox and consistent batsman, occupies the number five spot, solidifying the middle-order batting lineup. At number six, Ben Stokes, the current Test captain of England, is a true match-winner with exceptional all-round abilities, capable of turning the game in his team’s favor with both bat and ball.

Adam Gilchrist, one of the most explosive wicket-keeper batters in history, takes the number seven spot, adding attacking batting and quick work behind the stumps to the team. Shane Warne, the legendary leg-spinner, occupies the number eight position, with his ability to deceive batters with his spin and variations.

Jimmy Anderson, England’s all-time leading wicket-taker, brings his impeccable swing and seam bowling skills at number nine. Glenn McGrath, known for his relentless accuracy and discipline, slots in at number ten, adding consistency and wicket-taking ability to the bowling attack.

ICC World Cup 2023 Schedule Announced, Click Here To Check Full Schedule

Finally, at number eleven, Mitchell Johnson, in his menacing 2013-14 form, completes the lineup with his fiery pace and menacing bounce, leaving a lasting impression on Ashes’s history with his outstanding performances.

Overall, this All-Time Ashes XI is a balanced team with a formidable lineup of talented players. It represents the best of Ashes cricket, showcasing the extraordinary talents that have graced this prestigious series throughout its history.

Sir Alastair Cook’s All-Time Ashes XI:
Matthew Hayden, Andrew Strauss (c), Ricky Ponting, Joe Root, Steve Smith, Ben Stokes, Adam Gilchrist (wk), Shane Warne, Jimmy Anderson, Glenn McGrath, Mitchell Johnson.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles