WTC Final: Anil Kumble Criticized Indian Selectors For Ignoring This Experienced Wicket-Keeper Batter For WTC Final

A week after the end of the current season of the Indian Premier League, Team India has to play the final match of the World Test Championship with Australia. Team India’s squad was announced before this match, but due to KL Rahul’s exclusion, Ishan Kishan has been selected in the team.

Former Indian leg-spinner Anil Kumble has raised questions on the selection of the team. He said Ishan Kishan and KS Bharat are good players, but the experienced Wriddhiman Saha should have been chosen for the big match.

Talking on Jio Cinema, Kumble said that look at Wriddhiman Saha while keeping wickets; he has been brilliant in the current IPL season. Not only behind the stumps but also batting well for Gujarat Titans. Even though no one pays attention to him, he is one of the best wicket-keepers in India.

Former Indian team captain Anil Kumble has strongly criticized the selectors for the squad selected for the World Test Championship final. BCCI did not take experienced wicketkeeper-batsman Wriddhiman Saha for the WTC final. Wriddhiman Saha’s bat is going well in IPL. Saha has played many important innings for Gujarat Titans. Saha has scored 273 runs in 11 matches.

During an event on Jio Cinema, Anil Kumble said, “Wriddhiman Saha has been outstanding not only behind the stumps but also with the bat throughout the IPL. He often goes unnoticed, but he is one of the best wicket-keepers in India. I think the selectors made a mistake. He should have been part of the Indian team for the World Test Championship final. I know KS Bharath is part of the team, and he has done well.”

After the injury of KL Rahul, the Indian selectors have made Ishan Kishan a part of the team as his replacement. At the same time, KS Bharat has been given a chance in the team in place of Rishabh Pant. He has also been a part of the Indian team for the Border-Gavaskar series. Now Ishan Kishan has been included in the team as a backup wicket-keeper.

WTC Final Squad Of India:- Rohit Sharma (c), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, KS Bharat (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Akshar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat, Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper)

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles