Will Young Shine, New Zealand Won The ODI Series Against Sri-Lanka

New Zealand beat Sri Lanka by 6 wickets with 103 balls to spare in the third and final ODI played in Hamilton on Friday with the brilliant performance of Will Young (86 *) and the bowlers. The Sri Lankan team batted first, and the entire team was all out for 157 runs in 41.3 overs. In response, the hosts achieved the target by losing 4 wickets in 32.5 overs.

Will Young scored an unbeaten 86 off 113 balls with 11 fours and was adjudged player of the match for his brilliant performance. With this victory, New Zealand won the three-match series 2-0. The Kiwis won the first ODI by a huge margin of 198 runs, while the second ODI was washed out due to rain. Now a series of three T20 International matches will be played between the two teams from Sunday.

Earlier, Sri Lankan captain Dasun Shanaka won the toss and decided to bat. The Sri Lankan batters surrendered in front of New Zealand bowlers, wreaking havoc and proved their captain’s decision completely wrong. Matt Henry, Henry Shipley and Darryl Mitchell took three wickets each.

Sri Lanka’s top scorer was opener Pathum Nissanka (57), who was run out. Matt Henry took the wickets of Nuwanidu Fernando (2), Kusal Mendis (0), and Chamika Karunaratne (24). Henry Shipley bagged Angelo Mathews (0), Dasun Shanaka (31), and Kasun Rajith (9). Daryl Mitchell made Charit Aslanka (9), Dhananjaya de Silva (13), and Vanindu Hasaranga (0) his victim.

Chasing the target of 158 runs by Sri Lanka, the start of New Zealand was not good. Lahiru Kumar quickly withdrew openers Chad Bowes (1) and Tom Blundell (4). Darryl Mitchell (6) and captain Tom Latham (8) also could not stay at the crease for long. In such a situation, New Zealand’s innings were handled by Will Young (86 *) and Henry Nicholls (44 *).

Young scored an unbeaten 86 off 113 balls with the help of 11 fours. Henry Nicholls scored an unbeaten 44 in 52 balls with the help of 5 fours. Lahiru Kumar got two wickets from Sri Lanka. Kasun Rajith and Dasun Shanaka got one wicket each.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles