United States Cricket Board Announces 15-Member Squad for ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 Qualifier

The United States of America Cricket Team has revealed its 15-men squad for the upcoming ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 Qualifier, beginning on 18th June in Zimbabwe. Captain Monank Patel and vice-captain Aaron Jones will lead the team, and this American squad combines experience and fresh talent in its quest for World Cup qualification.

The selection panel of the United States Cricket Team has named left-arm fast bowler Abhishek Paradkar as the latest addition to the squad. Paradkar joins the existing 14 players who recently played a pivotal role in securing victory in the April ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier playoff held in Namibia. Notably, all-rounder Ian Holland will miss the qualifiers due to his commitments with Hampshire in county cricket.

The World Cup qualifiers will feature ten teams divided into two groups. In Group A, the United States will face formidable opponents such as the West Indies, Zimbabwe, Netherlands, and Nepal. Group B comprises Sri Lanka, Ireland, Scotland, Oman, and the UAE. Each team will compete against the others in their group once, with the top three advancing to the Super Six stage.

The Super Six stage will bring together the top three teams from each group, competing against the team that did not progress beyond the group stage. All points earned during the group stage will be carried forward to the Super Six stage, except those scored against teams that fail to qualify. After the Super Six stage, the top two teams will progress to the final and secure their spot in India’s ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023.

An exciting development for this tournament is the introduction of the Decision Review System (DRS) from the Super Six stage onwards. Implementing DRS will enhance the fairness and accuracy of umpiring decisions, adding excitement and strategy to the matches.

In preparation for the group-stage matches, Ireland played warm-up matches against the United States and the Netherlands on June 13 and 15, respectively. These warm-up encounters allowed the teams to fine-tune their strategies and assess their readiness for the intense competition.

United States Full Squad:- Monank Patel (Captain & Wicket-keeper), Aaron Jones (Vice-Captain), Shayan Jahangir (Wicket-keeper), Nostush Kenjige, Ali Khan, Sushant Modani, Sai Mukkamalla, Saurabh Netwalkar, Abhishek Paradkar, Nisarg Patel, Kyle Phillip, Usman Rafiq, Gajanand Singh, Jesse Singh, Steven Taylor.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles