Steve Smith Joins The Elite With Ricky Ponting; Check Full Award Details

Australian stalwart batter and run machine Steve Smith won his fourth Allan Border Medal on Monday. Earlier, he received that award in 2015, 2018, and 2021.

After receiving this award, he became the third player after Ricky Ponting and Michael Clarke to achieve this feat. He won the highest cricketer award in Australia by surpassing Travis Head, who got 144 votes, and Smith got 171 votes.

Former skipper batter Steve Smith scored 1524 runs, including four hundred, and thatโ€™s why his domination showed in the test cricket voting. However, he didnโ€™t impact the voting of the ODI or T20I.

Swashbuckler David Warner won the men’s ODI player of the year award on countback, while Marcus Stoinis won the T20 honours ahead of Josh Hazlewood.

Opener Usman Khawaja claimed the Shane Warne award for the men’s Test player of the year. He scored 1,020 at an average of 78.46 in a calendar year.

Women cricketer Beth Mooney won Belinda Clark Award to be crowned Australia’s best women’s cricketer. It’s her second Belinda Clark Award. She won this after considering her performance in all three formats.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles