Record Alert: Shubman Gill Becomes 2nd Indian To Get This Milestone After Virat Kohli, Surpasses Rishabh Pant, KL Rahul

The young opening batter of Gujarat Titans Shubman Gill is having a dream run with his bat. After scoring century against RCB, he remained the lone warrior for Gujarat in the qualifier 1 played against Chennai Super Kings.

Gujarat lost the match by 15 runs but Gill got 42 runs and fought with all his power to make GT win. During this knock, Shubman Gill achieved a huge milestone in the Indian Premier League. This season, Gill completes 700 runs and with this he became the second Indian batsman to score 700 runs in a single season of the IPL. Before him, the star batter of RCB Virat Kohli had accomplished this feat. Virat had scored 973 runs in IPL 2016 which remains the highest number of runs scored by any batsman in a single IPL season.

After Shubman Gill, there is Rishabh Pant in the list with 684 runs which he scored in 2018. Number four belongs to KL Rahul who gathered 670 runs in IPL 2020.

In this 16th edition of IPL 2022, Gill has scored 722 runs till now in 15 matches. He has an average of 55.54 and a strike rate of 149.17 with a high score of 104*.

Match Summary CSK vs GT, Qualifier 1:

Talking about the yesterday’s match,
Chennai Super Kings defeated Gujarat Titans by 15 runs and made into the final of IPL for the record 10th time.

In the first qualifier match played in Chepauk, Gujarat Titans won the toss and decided to bowl first. After that, Ruturaj Gaikwad played another magnificent innings for the Super Kings. The young opener scored 60 runs off 44 balls with the help of 7 fours and 1 six. Gaikwad formed a crucial partnership of 87 runs for the first wicket with Devon Conway. On the other hand, Conway scored 40 runs off 34 balls.

For the Gujarat Titans, Mohit Sharma and Mohammed Shami took two wickets each. On the other hand, Darshan Nalkande, Rashid Khan, and Noor Ahmed also claimed one wicket each.

Chennai Super Kings had set a target of 173 runs after losing the toss. Shubman Gill scored the highest runs for the Titans. Gill scored 42 runs off 38 balls. Besides him, Rashid Khan also played an innings of 22 runs off 16 balls, but another batsman failed to contribute which led GT team to a 15-run loss.

For CSK, Deepak Chahar, Maheesh Theekshana, Ravindra Jadeja, and Mathisha Pathirana claimed two wickets each. Meanwhile, Tushar Deshpande also took one wicket.

The CSK opener Ruturaj Gaikwad who scored 60 runs received the player of the match award.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles